Scroll to content
School Logo

Poplars Community Primary School

Courage, Honesty, Aspiration, Kindness, Collaboration

Contact Us


In line with the 2014 National Curriculum for Computing, our aim is to provide a high-quality Computing education which equips children to use computational thinking and creativity to understand and change the world. The curriculum will teach children key knowledge about how computers and computer systems work, how they are designed and programmed and how technological developments contribute to society. By the time they leave SMC, children will have gained key knowledge and skills in the three main areas of the Computing curriculum: Computer Science (programming and understanding how digital systems work), Information Technology (using computer systems to store, retrieve and send information) and Digital Literacy (evaluating digital content and using technology safely and respectfully). The objectives within each strand support the development of learning across the key stages, ensuring a solid grounding for future learning and beyond. Children leave Poplars, confident and competent to use their skills to further their learning and widen their opportunities. They know the importance of Online Safety to themselves and others and how to keep themselves safe

Computing in EYFS